Home   |   Join the NSPA   |   Sign In
Copy Scholarship Provider of the Year Awards (SPOY)

2016 Scholarship Provider of the Year winners


BOULDER, CO (October 20, 2016) – The National Scholarship Providers Association (NSPA) awarded 2016 Scholarship Provider of the Year (SPOY) Awards in two categories, recognizing outstanding scholarship practices in higher education. This year’s recipients, Meritus College Fund in the Independent Scholarship Providers category and California State University, Northridge in the Colleges and Universities category, were recognized at the NSPA Annual Conference in Kansas City, MO.

"Scholarship Provider of the Year Award winners are chosen by a committee of their peers and exemplify innovative and effective scholarship practices that have positively impacted the ability of their scholars to access and be successful in higher education,” commented Amy Weinstein, Executive Director of the NSPA. “NSPA members work to design their scholarship programs and student support services in strategic ways. This year’s winners have proven their programs to be exceptional at helping students achieve their educational goals.”

Two scholarship providers selected for the annual honor receive a $2,500 cash prize sponsored by Fastweb, the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for school and a top site in the Monster Worldwide network. Organizations must be current members of NSPA to be considered for the award. 

For over 21 years Fastweb has been the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for college. The Fastweb community is made up of Students, Parents, Scholarship Providers and Educators that are seeking and supporting ways to fund higher education. Fastweb is thrilled to once again sponsor the Scholarship Provider of the Year awards to recognize the dedication of all the providers involved to support students in achieving their educational goals.

Meritus College Fund believes that higher education is a critical step in addressing income disparity for motivated and talented youth. Socio-economic circumstance should not limit them from fully engaging in this transformative opportunity. To this end, Meritus empowers low-income Bay Area youth who possess grit and ambition to succeed in college and prepare for opportunities post-graduation by providing scholarships, individualized coaching and career mentoring and development.

The Financial Aid & Scholarship Department at California State University, Northridge provides financial assistance and guidance in a caring and compassionate manner through appropriate communication and learning activities that will empower our students to fulfill their academic aspirations. As members of the university community, we collaborate with other campus departments and the community to provide outreach and access services, scholarship resources and educational work experiences to our student population. We will strive to teach responsibility through loan counseling and financial management workshops, while requiring satisfactory academic progress to promote responsible citizenship.

About the National Scholarship Providers Association

The National Scholarship Providers Association (NSPA) is a non-profit membership association that brings together private foundations, public charities, colleges and universities, corporate giving programs, and government agencies from across North America that provide scholarships for higher education.  Its mission is to advance the collective impact of scholarship providers and the scholarships they award.  The NSPA supports its 370 member organizations through professional development opportunities, industry best practices and research, issue education and policy advocacy. In the 2013-2014 academic year, NSPA members awarded over $1.1 billion in scholarships to more than 180,000 students.  For additional information about the NSPA visit www.scholarshipproviders.org and follow on Twitter @NSPA_Tweets.

About Fastweb:

16px paragraph

Fastweb, a top site in the Monster Worldwide (NYSE: MWW) network, is the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for school, by providing scholarship and financial aid information, as well as information on jobs and internships. One out of three college-bound seniors use the site and more than 50 million users have benefitted from Fastweb's information and services. Fastweb lets students create personalized profiles that can be matched against its expansive databases of colleges and scholarships. As the oldest and most popular free online scholarship matching service, the database has more than 1.5 million scholarships totaling over $3.4 billion. To learn more about Fastweb, visit www.fastweb.com and follow Fastweb on social media for the latest on paying for school all year long: Twitter (at @PayingForSchool); Facebook; Pinterest; Google+.


Amy Weinstein, Executive Director, NSPA and representatives from Meritus College Fund,
winner of the 2016 Scholarship Provider of the Year Award in the Independent Scholarship Providers category.

 Past winners

Scholarship Provider Winner
Institutional Winner
2015   George Snow Scholarship Fund   Northern Illinois University
2014   Jeannette Rankin Women's Scholarship Fund   Red Rocks Community College Foundation
2013   WGA's Evans Scholars Foundation   CU Boulder Guardian Scholars
2012   Center for Student Opportunity/I'm First   Magic Johnson Foundation - Taylor Michaels Scholarship Program
2011   10,000 Degrees
University of Michigan - Scholarship Program Office of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
2010   Terry Foundation   University of Southern Mississippi - Luckyday Foundation Citizen Scholars Program
2009   Simon Scholars Program   Auburn University - Provost Leadership Undergraduate Scholarship (PLUS) Retention Program
2008   Dell Scholars Program (Michael and Susan Dell Foundation)   Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
2007   Point Foundation   The Ford Family Foundation
2006   Orphan Foundation of America (now Foster Care to Success (FC2S))   Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
2005   American Indian Graduate Center   Robert Morris College
2004   Jack Kent Cooke Foundation   University of Texas, Austin
2003   TELACU Education Foundation   N/A
2002   American Indian College Fund   Kent State University
2001   Oregon Student Assistance Commission   Citizen's Scholarship Foundation of America (now Scholarship America)
2000   American Cancer Society, Florida Division, Inc.   The Fremont Area Foundation

Thank you to the following organizations for their generous support!

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal